Lightweight Wiring Diagram

Information relating to the Matchless G5 or AJS Model 8 350cc Lightweight
patchy-man

Post by patchy-man »

With reference to my 1960 AJS 350 Lightweight Model 8 restoration project, I would appreciate any help regarding the correct wiring diagram and colour coding for this model. The bike does have the original wiring harness fitted, but the wiring colours differ from any wiring diagrams that I have looked at for Lightweight models ?

I have also purchased a new small solid state rectifier, as the original seems to be kaput, and need help as to, how to correctly connect and wire the new rectifier ?

Many thanks in advance.
"How many is too many"
patchy-man

Post by patchy-man »

With reference to my earlier post regarding the correct wiring diagram colour coding, unfotunatley I`m an absolute novice, when it comes to electrical wiring, and have confused myself by trying to follow a wiring diagram with different colour codes, resulting in various bulbs lighting from both headlamp switches!!!

The rectifier I have also purchased is a "encapsulated silicon rectifier" What is the correct way to wire this?, as it has four terminals, and the old original coming off only has three terminals.

Many thanks.
"How many is too many"
itma

Post by itma »

one of them is probably an earth wire, did you not get a diagram with it?
Likely enough your harness is not an original one, anyway, just an old replacement one.
Chose one diagram and stick to that, if you have trouble stick a bit of masking tape on each cable end and write its home tag on it.
Electricals are not such a big deal, just relentlessly logical.
It helps to think of each wire as a water pipe, ie if its getting in at one end,and not coming out the other its a leak or a blockage.
Don Madden

Post by Don Madden »