Rough value

General purpose topics/chat goes in here
Trsg80

Rough value

Post by Trsg80 »

Hi

I’m new to Ajs and matchless bikes but have a long history with bikes and more recently classic bikes with my 1965 tiger 100.

I’ve been given the chance to buy what I believe is a 1955 Ajs model 20 and also a matchless g80, they have both been parked up for 15+ years I’m looking for guidance on how much I should be paying as they don’t know what they are worth.

The Ajs is all original and hasn’t seen any restoration I’ve been told all oils and fuel have been dropped out so they’re is no chance of wet sumping it looks all they’re from what I could see when I went to view it

The matchless has been restored at some point but is looking tired and showing wear and tear of being left in a shed same again all oils and fuel has been dropped out.

My view on them is that in reality I’m buying them
Mechanically blind as they aren’t running and who knows what 15+ years of sitting still has done to anything internal. I didn’t have a chance to try and turn them over to see if they where seized or not

Any pointers on pricing would be much appreciated as I don’t want to offer to much for them but in the same hand I don’t want to feel like im offering them not enough and ripping them off.
clive

Re: Rough value

Post by clive »

Mighty difficult question to answer. Values of heavyweight AMC bikes seem to have been falling due to the number coming onto the market and the recession.
Factors which will affect the value include
Condition both appearance and whether or not it is a runner and all items functioning such as speedo, dynamo etc
Is it a matching numbers machine ie engine frame and gearbox as left the factory? There is an online checker for this.
Are there valid V5C documents?
Where the bike is situated, one in north of scotland likely to command a lower price than one in the Midlands simply due to number of potential purchasers.