1958 AJS 16MS - Carburettor Refurbish kit

General purpose topics/chat goes in here
Ian Heaton

1958 AJS 16MS - Carburettor Refurbish kit

Post by Ian Heaton »

A very good afternoon to all!
I am a complete newbie in mororcycle restoring, although I have had motorcycles for almost 50 years.
Could I have some advice please? I am picking up an AJS Model 16MS from Andrew at the Kettering facility in just over a week. I am informed that the bike last ran about a year ago and will need the carburettor refurbished. I hav e seen the following on the parts site : RK6/1 276 Carburettor Gasket Kit. Would this be suitable for my bike?
Many thanks in advance
Ian
Based on the West Coast of Scotland)
SPRIDDLER

Re: 1958 AJS 16MS - Carburettor Refurbish kit

Post by SPRIDDLER »

Ian Heaton wrote: Thu Mar 09, 2023 1:46 pm A very good afternoon to all!
I am a complete newbie in mororcycle restoring, although I have had motorcycles for almost 50 years.
Could I have some advice please? I am picking up an AJS Model 16MS from Andrew at the Kettering facility in just over a week. I am informed that the bike last ran about a year ago and will need the carburettor refurbished. I hav e seen the following on the parts site : RK6/1 276 Carburettor Gasket Kit. Would this be suitable for my bike?
Many thanks in advance
Ian
Based on the West Coast of Scotland)
Welcome, Ian.
To be absolutely sure you'll need to confirm the carb type. It 'should' be an AMAL Monobloc.
If you haven't seen it, masses of info, specifications, factory manuals, techy articles and much more in the website known as Christians Archive. They are here under 'Books'

http://archives.jampot.dk/

In the Workshop Manual it's shown on page 9 as an AMAL type 376/5 with a bore of 1 1/16" (one inch and one sixteenth).
Last edited by SPRIDDLER on Thu Mar 09, 2023 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
'There is a tide in the affairs of men
Which taken at the flood............'
Ian Heaton

Post by Ian Heaton »