Magneto timing

Information relating to the Matchless G3 or AJS Model 16 350cc Heavyweight
AndrewM

Magneto timing

Post by AndrewM »

I've been recommissioning my 1946 16M for a couple of months now and am almost ready to register it for road use again. Last job on the list was re-doing the magneto timing, as I had never been able to get the engine to idle smoothly at low tickover and had a feeling it was set too advanced, as I could never get it to run smoothly at anything but fully retarded on the lever. It could also have a nasty kickback if you were half-hearted with the kickstarter. Carbie has been replaced with a brand new one due to petrol leaks due to thread damage, and I am happy that idle mixture is very close to correct, so felt the problem was more likely to be ignition than carburation.

Finally got around to checking the timing today. Cleaned and set the points, got out my 0.001" feeler gauge (no fag papers here unfortunately), made up my timing stick from a cut-down skewer from the kitchen, found TDC and marked 7/16" to get the furthest advanced piston position. Engaged 4th gear so that I could rotate the rear wheel to rotate the points easily, set the A/R lever to full advanced, checked the points and found them fully open at 7/16" before TDC. Rotated the rear wheel backwards to find the point at which the points just opened - about 1 1/4" before TDC!

I was a bit baffled so checked the points opening position with the A/R lever set fully retarded, was about 3/8" before TDC.

My conclusion is that either I have totally misunderstood the timing procedure and have been measuring the things wrongly, or someone before me set the timing with the A/R lever fully retarded instead of fully advanced.

Comments appreciated, as this is the first time I have done this so wanted to be 100% sure I was doing things correctly before pulling and resetting the sprocket on the end of the camshaft.
Groily

Re: Magneto timing

Post by Groily »