1961 G12 CSR - Top End Rebuild

Information relating to the Matchless G12 or AJS Model 31 650cc twin
AFPU

1961 G12 CSR - Top End Rebuild

Post by AFPU »

Hi All

I relative Newbie here, not only to the Club but also to the marque and to some extent rebuilding Brit bikes.....my last one was a BSA B25 about 40 years ago!

I am beginning a top end rebuild on my 1961 G12 CSR and am having a problem removing the inlet manifold. Having undone all four nuts the manifold is reluctant to come away even after a few whacks with a rubber mallet (gently of course). Any suggestions as I am concerned about damaging the mating surfaces?
Gary
"Any fool can make things complicated but it takes a genius to make things simple"
clive

Re: 1961 G12 CSR - Top End Rebuild

Post by clive »

The done way to assemble the top end is to put the manifold in place before bolting down the heads or it may not be possible to fit it. Logic would suggest undo the cylinder head bolts before trying to remove the manifold.
clive
if it ain't broke don't fix
AFPU

Post by AFPU »

Hi Clive, many thanks and I'll try that, I was planning on only working on one cylinder at a time but can unbolt both heads.
Gary
"Any fool can make things complicated but it takes a genius to make things simple"
AFPU

Post by AFPU »

Hi Everyone and here's wising you all the best for 2022. :beer:

With regard to my top end rebuild, which is going slowly as I have been focused recently on acquiring the necessary parts that I will need; I now have both cylinder heads and inlet manifold off and cleaned up. The piston tops have been cleaned of carbon build up and turned out to be Hepolite +.040 (Part number 16023); and new rings acquired from Cox & Turner. The bores seem OK so all I need to do now is get the barrels off, clean and paint these, fit the new rings and then re-assemble.