Gearchange stuck on B52

Information relating to the Matchless G9 or AJS Model 20 500cc twin
magnusk750

Gearchange stuck on B52

Post by magnusk750 »

I've had my B52 apart. Changed ball bearings and glands. Box generally speaking in good shape to my understanding, though I'm new to Burman boxes and I've never used it, belongs to my 55 G9 being built from parts.

Gears and shafts came together nicely, outer cover with it's gear change mechanism not so. I can turn the cam - barrel, feels like it moves quite freely, but I cant turn it with my fingers, need a screwdriver as a lever. Also the gear pedal shaft and fork attached to it moves quite fine, even if there is some play in the bushing. When assembled the gearchange will not move at all. I've tried to put the axle in the outer cover and attach the pedal and then mate it to the gearbox, and I've tried to put it onto the cam-barrel and then the attached the outer cover. Read somewere that it the position of the cam-barrel shuldn't matter. Is that true?

There's quite a lot of info on how to take the gearbox apart, much less on how to put it together. F W Neill writes only that assembly is reverse to taking apart.

All input welcome!
20211218_234657-1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Groily

Re: Gearchange stuck on B52

Post by Groily »

I don't think you would normally be able to change gear on the barrel by hand - there's quite a lot of 'oomph' needed to get the selector forks moving in their tracks and the gear dogs etc engaging and disengaging, if you think about it.

The position of the barrel does matter, to the extent that the plunger has to be in the right indent for the gear the 'box is in, or for neutral. If you throw it together any old how you may get a couple of gears, but not the proper range. Many B52 owners, me included, will have got the T shirt on this the hard way over the years.