G3LS wiring

Information relating to the Matchless G3 or AJS Model 16 350cc Heavyweight
chrisg1988

G3LS wiring

Post by chrisg1988 »

Good morning,

I am trying to sort out the wiring on my 54 G3LS. Basically I installed a new battery as the other one was flat. It is my first time switching on any of the electrics so I didnt knoif something was wrong with it or not. All I know is that the harness was changed in the 08 but the bike was never on the road from then so i do not know if it had been tested.

Anyways, I tried switching on everything and the following happened when taking power only from the battery:

Sidelamps very dim
Headlight very dim but both normal and bright work
Horn works
Ammeter works
Tail light and brake light do not work.

I checked the bulb on the tail light and it is good, brake light issue was determined to be slack in the brake light switch so that is no issue(tail light still doesnt work) .

In the mean time I noticed that the battery wires were very warm. Checked continuity between tail and switch all ok. Checked current draw between brake and brakelight and its good but from battery to the switch when I put the switch on sidelight the amperage will not show on the multimeter(must be a very heavy drain).

I opened the switch and noticed the wiring wasnt according to the manual(mainly ammeter wires was connected to no5 instead of 3 and sidelamps/speedo where on 3 instead of 5.). I turned them around and tried them. Sidelamps are a bit brighter, horn ok, headlight not working and tail not working. Wires still very warm. Ammeter still full deflection.

Any ideas? Could it be an earth problem?

Thanks

Christian
Groily

Re: G3LS wiring

Post by Groily »

There is certainly a serious fault somewhere! But it could take a bit of detective work to find it . . .

A typical dynamo system, on a bike with a magneto, looks like this:
Dynamo wiring diagram (typical).jpg