SR1 mag

Information relating to the Matchless G3 or AJS Model 16 350cc Heavyweight
Liddle

SR1 mag

Post by Liddle »

Hi there,I am a newbie here, and need help with a SR1 mag. on a 52 16m engine. It has no spark, I would like to know how to test the unit.It is still on the bike.
Rob Harknett

Re: SR1 mag

Post by Rob Harknett »

52 should not have an SR1 mag
Liddle

Post by Liddle »

So what are you saying? it will not work?
what should it have? can it be made to work? it looks like its been on engine for years.
engine number starts 52 16ms 1xxx
SPRIDDLER

Post by SPRIDDLER »

Welcome to the Forums, Donald.
Don't worry that it's an SR1 as they were fitted as standard to later (1955 and onward models) and it'll work fine on your engine.
It would help if you indicate what checks you have already done (cleaned points and slip ring, checked HT lead and plug cap etc? ).
To save describing all the 'ifs' and 'buts' in checking a mag take a look at the link below which is from the magneto resto business 'Brightspark Magnetos' owned by Jampot member Groily.

http://www.brightsparkmagnetos.com/DIY/index.htm

If it's the condenser playing up there's an Easycap replacement available from Brightspark.
'There is a tide in the affairs of men
Which taken at the flood............'
Groily

Post by Groily »

This might help a bit too. There's a troubeshooting page towards the end.
http://www.brightsparkmagnetos.com/libr ... gnetos.pdf
For more detailed stuff, this is also useful, but obviously covers a lot of less relevant ground with the multi-cyl versions and impulse starters etc
http://www.brightsparkmagnetos.com/libr ... %20SR4.pdf

First thing to do is look at points, clean and set gap per booklets above.
Check continuity of HT lead from inside mag cover to plug.