Setting up ignition timing, 1960 Model 31 K2F mag

Helpful information and requests for assitance and advice
mjf65

Setting up ignition timing, 1960 Model 31 K2F mag

Post by mjf65 »

Morning all,
After a long pause and now Sean Hawker has worked his magic on my sparkless magneto, it's time to fit it. As a complete novice to British bikes, the last time I dealt with points was my Z250 over 40 years ago. Has someone got a step by step guide for this, sort of check sheet style? I've read the manual a few times and Sean gave me a few tips but any additional information would be great. I've also watched a rather good video on YouTube of someone setting up the timing on a G80 but can't find any filmed tutorials for any of the twins?
Thanks
Groily

Re: Setting up ignition timing, 1960 Model 31 K2F mag

Post by Groily »

It is hard to improve on the instructions in all the manuals to be honest, and not sure if there are any vids out there.

But anyway, my tuppence worth if it helps . . .

Decide whether you are going to set the timing using the time-honoured 'rod-down-plug'ole' method or using a degree disc. Most people probably still use the rod-on-'ole method, so doing in that way . . .

. . . first get your pistons to the required distance BEFORE top dead centre. Both pistons move together, so one will be on compression and the other on the exhaust stroke. The one with the valves shut is the one on compression, which is the one you want to focus on (you can see an open ex valve on t'other one with a torch down the plug'ole usually, which helps).

When setting piston position, do it by rotating the engine in its direction of normal rotation - that way you don't get any backlash (which you will if you reverse the engine to find the right spot.) Check book for distance before tdc recommended for your engine - 3/8ths inch from memory, which may be faulty.